Yearly Archive
for: ‘2015’

Making the most of the Intercultural Classroom: Bauhaus University Weimar

Bauhaus-Universität Weimar has a highly international student population and works actively to offer their teaching staff tools for making the most of the diverse learning environment. I’ve been invited twice to lead workshops on the intercultural classroom, most recently in December 2014 for the Expertenforum VI: „The Intercultural Classroom: From Theory to Practice.“ Gemeinsam wollten wir […]

Read More

How employers today can create a better world of work tomorrow

The „Human Resources Management Expertenkreis des Gesamtverbandes Kommunikationsagenturen (GWA)“ invited me to Hamburg on 18. June 2015 to speak about Generation Y and the ways in which employers can be more attractive to this high potential group. I was happy to meet the Human Resources Managers from across Germany, hear what they face in their […]

Read More

What kinds of people fuel the new backlash? Why do we need limits on paid work?

A continuation of the Blog on the new Backlash: why we need to defend work-life research and policies, from my presentation at the Conference „6th International Community, Work and Family Conference in Malmö, Sweden from 19-22 May 2015“. This presentation and blog were inspired by my response to Thomas Vasek’s book „Work-Life Bullshit“ which we […]

Read More

A new backlash? How to Defend Work-Family Policies: Presentation in Malmö, Sweden

Work-family policies and programming have made enormous leaps forward in the public and private sectors in the last decades of the 20th century and first decades of the 21st century. The goal, broadly and generally stated, is enabling paid work, unpaid work, family care, self-care, and community involvement to all be part of a normal […]

Read More

Visiting Fellow at the Center for the Study of Economy and Society, Cornell University

This month I am a visiting fellow at the Center for the Study of Economy and Society, at the Department of Sociology at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York. Prof. Victor Nee leads this Center, and he was also my theory professor when I began graduate school here 19 years ago at Cornell, so it […]

Read More

Yearly Archive
for: ‘2015’

Den Intercultural Classroom optimal nutzen: Bauhaus-Universität Weimar

Die Bauhaus-Universität Weimar hat einen hohen Anteil an internationalen Studierenden und einen großes Interesse daran, ihren Lehrenden Hilfsmittel und Programme an die Hand zu geben, um die unterschiedlichen Lernumgebungen optimal zu nutzen. Bereits zweimal wurde ich eingeladen, dort Workshops über den „Intercultural Classroom“ zu leiten, zuletzt im Dezember 2014 für das ExpertenforumVI: „The Intercultural Classroom: […]

Read More

Wie Arbeitgeber heute die Arbeitswelt von morgen gestalten sollten

Auf Einladung des „Human Resources Management Expertenkreis des Gesamtverbandes Kommunikationsagenturen (GWA)“ hielt ich 18. Juni 2015 in Hamburg einen Vortrag über die Generation Y und die Frage, wie Arbeitgeber ihre Attraktivität für diese hoch kompetente Gruppe erhöhen können. Es war mir eine Freude, mit Human-Resource-Managern aus ganz Deutschland zusammenzutreffen, von ihrer täglichen Arbeit und ihren […]

Read More

Welche Menschen heizen die neue Gegenreaktion an? Warum brauchen wir Grenzen für die Erwerbsarbeit?

Eine Ergänzung meines Blogs über den neuen „Backlash“: warum wir Work-Life-Forschung und –Maßnahmen verteidigen müssens, aus meiner Präsentation auf der Konferenz „6th International Community, Work and Family Conference in Malmö, Schweden vom 19.-22. Mai 2015“. Diese Präsentation und der Blog wurden inspiriert von meiner Antwort auf Thomas Vaseks Buch „Work-Life Bullshit“, das wir auf einer […]

Read More

Ein neuer Gegenschlag? Wie man die Work-Family-Policies am besten verteidigen kann: Präsentation in Malmö, Schweden

Familienfreundliche Politik und Strategien haben in den letzten Jahrzehnten des 20. Jahrhunderts und in den ersten Jahrzehnten des 21. Jahrhunderts in öffentlichen und privaten Bereichen einen enormen Sprung vorwärts gemacht. Ziel im Großen und Ganzen ist es zu ermöglichen, dass bezahlte Arbeit, unbezahlte Arbeit, Familienpflege, Selbstpflege sowie Engagement in der Gemeinschaft alles Teile des normalen Erwachsenenlebensverlaufs […]

Read More

Gastaufenthalt „Center for Economy and Society“ Cornell University

Diesen Monat bin ich als Gastwissenschaftlerin am Center for the Study of Economy and Society am Institut für Soziologie an der Cornell University in Ithaca, New York. Das Center wird von Prof. Victor Nee geleitet. Er war mein Theorieprofessor zu der Zeit, als ich hier vor 19 Jahren meine Doktorarbeit begonnen habe, und so ist […]

Read More