Monthly Archive
for: ‘July, 2013’

An open letter to the senior scholar at the conference, or, when will sexism end? With you!

Dear Senior Scholar, You gave a talk at a conference we both attended. It had relevance for my research, so I approached you at the coffee break, complimented your work, and asked if we could be seated together at the conference dinner to talk more about the topic. Certainly, you replied, “you’re easy to find.” […]

Read More

Women in STEM Fields: Hessen’s Mentoring Network 2012 Celebration in Fulda, 22. June 2013

The state of Hessen has a mentoring program for women in science, engineering, and technology fields at the university and doctoral level. The graduating class of 2012 of this mentoring program met on June 22, 2013, a beautiful Saturday, in the impressive rooms of the Palace in Fulda for their final awards ceremony and send-off. […]

Read More

Gender-neutral careers in STEM-fields: Are they possible?

On June 20, 2013 I gave a talk in Berlin for an audience of young women just finishing their studies in the STEM fields (STEM means Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics). The question on the table was, can women have gender-neutral careers in STEM fields?  And the answer I gave is, as long as women […]

Read More

Monthly Archive
for: ‘Juli, 2013’

Ein offener Brief an den leitenden Wissenschaftler der Konferenz oder wann wird der Sexismus ein Ende haben? Mit Ihnen!

Lieber Leitender Wissenschaftler, Sie haben einen Vortrag gehalten und dieser war wichtig für meine Forschung. Daher sprach ich Sie beim Kaffee an, beglückwünschte Sie zu Ihrer Arbeit und fragte, ob wir später beim Dinner zusammensitzen könnten, um mehr über das Thema sprechen zu können. Selbstverständlich, antworteten Sie, „Sie sind leicht zu finden“. Ich, verwirrt: „wegen […]

Read More

MentorinnenNetzwerk für Frauen in Naturwissenschaft und Technik, Fulda, 22. Juni 2013

Das Land Hessen verfügt über ein Mentorenprogramm für Frauen in Wissenschaft und Technik an Universitäten und für Doktorandinnen. Die Abschlussklasse 2012 dieses Mentorenprogramms traf sich am 22. Juin 2013, einem wunderschönen Samstag, in den beeindruckenden Räumen des Fuldaer Schlosses für die Verleihungs- und die Abschiedszeremonie. Über 85 Mentorenteams waren anwesend. Ich hielt dort den Einführungsvortrag […]

Read More

Berlin: Geschlechtsneutrale Karrieren in MINT-Fächern: Ohne Widersprüche? Wünschenswert? Und wie?

Am 20. Juni 2013 hielt ich einen Vortrag vor einigen jungen Frauen, die gerade ihr Studium in den MINT-Fächern abschließen. Die Frage war, ob genderneutrale Karrieren in den MINT-Berufen für Frauen möglich sind. Meine Antwort lautete, dass, solange die Frauen in ihrem Beruf, in einer Arbeitsgruppe oder auf ihrem Niveau innerhalb der Firma in der […]

Read More